bambu vietnamese

No better feeling than when you randomly discover a hidden gem somewhere you least expect it. My friends and I came across a traditional Vietnamese restaurant that was not at all advertised around. The atmosphere is really cute, with wooden bench-style seating indoors and outdoors, dimmed lights and fairy lights all over the ceiling – a dream!

My friend planned her birthday dinner at Bambu and we all went on a Tuesday night, which was probably a good idea since it was nowhere near being too busy.

IMG_0100

I got the aromatic steamed jasmine rice with the rump steak – it was probably the best steak I’ve ever tried, they prepared it with an exotic sauce that was just perfect.

IMG_0099

For my drink, I got a cloudy lemonade and mint mocktail that was served in a Mason jar.

IMG_0101

I have a bit of a sweet tooth; I can never skip dessert. Since I love trying new things, trust me to pick the quirkiest dessert on the menu; a slice of chilli and lime cheesecake. I love cheesecake, my favourite is chocolate cheesecake, so I decided to give this other flavour a go.

To be truthful, the first few of tastes were really good; the cream cheese was very rich, it was the perfect balance of creamy sweetness with some spiciness – since there were chilli flakes in the cream. After a while the chilli become too much for me to handle and it no longer tasted like a dessert, it was like having a main after my initial main! Still, I don’t regret trying it, how many of you can say you have tried a chilli and lime cheesecake for dessert?!

One of my friends got a slice of chocolate fudge cake with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, this was served with blueberries and raspberries. Another friend got one scoop of raspberry and one scoop of lime sorbet, served with some some fresh raspberries and a slice of a lime.

IMG_0166

Leave a Reply

